Home > Common Article, Language Focus, Recommended For Students > ENGLISH MATERIALS FOR SENIOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS

ENGLISH MATERIALS FOR SENIOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS


Part 1 (Expression of Possibility)
I never guess that this month, my blog has reached more than 6000 visitors (thanks for all visitors). Hope you and all visitors could take benefit from this blog.

Well, to make this blog “consistent” as its first mission (as a place to learn English, not only for publishing my writing about my interests or my experience in doing something), today I post some materials related with “language focus”. For this part, some materials here could be applicable for 3rd grade (year XII) students.

OK. First, I will tell you about “Expression of Possibility”. This expression is used to express whether something could happen or not. For example:

  1. Is it possible that we can win that competition?
  2. Is there any possibility of finishing these assignments tomorrow morning?
  3. Do you think that the school will dismiss earlier today?

The phrases in bold are phrases that commonly used to express possibility. Then, what about responding a possibility? To respond a possibility sentence, we can use phrases below:

  1. Maybe / perhaps / possible / of course.
  2. It could be so / I think so / I don’t think so.
  3. That’s possible.
  4. I’m sure.
  5. I’m optimistic.

For the daily speaking that using this kind of expression, could be like these:
In the bus stop
Sarah: “What time the bus will arrive, Dad?”
Khadis: “At 9 o’clock.”
Sarah: “Is it possible that the bus will arrive sooner?”
Khadis: “I don’t think so. The bus is always on time, here.”

At home
Sarah: “Dad, do you think that we can plant some roses in the garden today?”
Khadis: “Yes, of course. We can do that this afternoon.”

At school
Sarah: “What possibility is there if I mix potassium and calcium?”
Farhan: “I’m not sure about what will happen.”
Sarah: “And, is there any chance to make it explode?”
Farhan: “I have no idea.”

  1. anonymous
    September 22, 2011 at 1:22 pm

    Wiz… jeneng anake dewek nggo conto nang dialog ya? Keren lah Dis.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment