Home > Genre (Narrative Text), Recommended For Students, Recommended For Teachers, Short Story > WE ARE HAVING FUN WITH FABLES. WHAT ABOUT YOU?

WE ARE HAVING FUN WITH FABLES. WHAT ABOUT YOU?


Listening Materials Projects

Long time before I post about storynory I had a simple plan to create audio materials to help English learners around me to enhance their listening capability by recording common stories and then upload them here. So, they can listen (or download) the materials for practice and more people can also get the same benefits.

Unfortunately, I don’t have a good voice and good pronunciation to be recorded. So I asked for a help from some friends who concerned about English. Some of them were teachers, English enthusiasts, students, neighbor, friends from different towns, and ex-classmate. I sent a file contained some famous fables by Aesop and other writers. I asked all of my colleagues to record one or two stories while reading the story(ies). After that, they should send the recorded stories to me through e-mail. I said that I would accept any audio file formats (mp3, wav, ogg, etc.).

But I wasn’t luck. Only 3 people sent the recorded stories and the audio quality might not very good since they were recorded using different devices. But, it’s still OK for the beginning. Here are a few of our works:

The Goal of The Project

This “project” was intended to create positive content—a simple listening material—that will support English teaching-learning process, especially listening activities. But not only that, the recording process was also intended to improve our speaking capability. I do hope that by creating this simple audio podcasts, we will improve our pronunciation, reading skill, voice management skill, the skill on using technology to create learning medium, and finally can help listeners (learners) with their listening.

Hall of Fame

I address a big, big, big, and very big thank you to the following people for helping me on this project:

1.

Puput

My pretty and cute sister, Puput Tri Widiastuti

http://puputtriwidiastuti.blogspot.com/
2. Akbar and Wahyu Adi, the students of UMP (Universitas Muhammadiyah Purwokerto), under supervision of my lecturer, Mr. Khristianto
3. Friends who had promised to send their recorded voice in the near future

Without you all, this small project would never run at all. Let’s keep making a crowd!

Disclaimer

  1. The copyrighted image (cover) of “Babu and The Lion” story was taken from here
  2. The copyrighted image (cover) of “Goose That Laids Golden Egg” story was taken from here
  3. The copyrighted images (covers) of “King of The Jungle and A Little Mouse” story were taken from here and here
  4. The copyrighted image (cover) of “The Dog and The Wolf” story was taken from here

The copyright of the images belongs to their respective owner / creator / publisher.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

