YOU MUST HAVE THEM ALL!!!


A few days recently, I tested several dictionary application. Almost all application I tried were satisfying. The word “satisfying” here means that I felt that the application could accommodate my needs for “perfect” English dictionary. Babylon, Oxford Dictionary of English, and The Sage’s English Dictionary and Thesaurus are three digital dictionaries that I tested. From those dictionaries, I choose The Sage’s English Dictionary and Thesaurus as my favorite.
Actually, the first application I tried was Oxford Dictionary of English. The interface was so simple. We only need to type a certain word that we want to know the description / meaning then press ENTER. We will be shown the meaning of that word. So, just the same as its name and its book version, this application also work only as ordinary dictionary.

The second application I tested was Babylon. Actually, I got this software for about 3 or 4 years ago but I almost never tried it. Then, when I tried Oxford Dictionary of English, I remembered Babylon so I installed it. Unfortunately, the full version of this application was a proprietary (need to purchase it), while I only have the trial version. So I could not test it further. But, from the “Help” menu, we could know that Babylon is a powerful tool to understand English words.

The last application and the most satisfying application (for me) was The Sage’s English Dictionary and Thesaurus. Just the same as Oxford and Babylon, this application has a main function to translate English to English. But, this application has more superiorities than two previous applications above. More complete database, nicer interface, and the most important thing is free while Oxford and Babylon need to be bought to give us full features. The features of The Sage are definition concordancer, example concordancer, semantic similarity, wildcard, anagram, etc. Each features has their own sub-features that will make us easier to use a certain word. Especially, it provides the real example of word’s usage in a sentence.

By using The Sage’s English Dictionary and Thesaurus I can track all words that I have learnt. Not only that, I also can make a list of “favorite” words. This list can be used as our personal dictionary. So, better you try it by yourselves so that you can experience new way of using dictionary.

Thianhvan – Trac Nghiem Anh Van
I give you one more application that will help you to improve your English: TRAC NGHIEM ANH VAN. This software contains multi-choice tests, which will test your Basic English and general knowledge. You can decide the number of questions and time to answer the questions by yourselves. After the time is up (or you finish in answering questions before the time is over), you can preview the result and see your score.

The interface of this software was actually in Vietnamese language. But don’t worry, I will show you how to use it.
OK we will start from “So cau hoi”. Fill the box with the number of question you will process. Then, in “Thoi gian lam bai”, fill the time you need to finish answering the questions. The timer will countdown your time. Last, press “Bat dau” to start answering questions.
After you finish in answering the questions, press “Ket Thuc” then “Chap nhan”. You will see the score and you may review the result of your work.

To review your work, click “Xem Chi Tiet”. If you want to stop, press “Thoat”.

  1. yudhi
    May 4, 2011 at 11:50 pm

    nice post. next time. better to put the links to the official site of mentioned softwares.

  2. Anna
    May 5, 2011 at 8:58 am

    That is right. Better to put links, especially download links.

  3. May 5, 2011 at 9:04 pm

    To get The Sage’s dictionary, please visit http://www.sequencepublishing.com/thesage.html.

    To get Babylon, please visit http://www.babylon.com

  4. sequencer
    May 31, 2011 at 12:36 am

    Good article. I think u are very good in writing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

