Home > Common Article > WHAT CAN I DO WITH MY ENGLISH?

WHAT CAN I DO WITH MY ENGLISH?


One day someone who had lived in Yogyakarta asked me: I can speak English quite well. But I don’t know how to use it and what I can do with my English. Then I conclude “English: For What?”

The same question might have arisen from your own mind. If I can speak in English well, then what should I do? Or What is the benefits / advantages of English for me?

As we know, several people learn English for their future occupation. For being a teacher, for example. Several people such as students learn English because it’s a duty at school. A lot of people here studied English in their past (or still learn English until today), but not all of them have the same intention such as for being an English teacher. So, what can we do with our English that we have learned in the past?

There are several ways to make your English more useful than you keep as your past time memory:

  1. Open a private course or translating service. It’s suitable for you who have good English skills. By opening an English course or translating service, you will get additional income. It’s interesting, right? 
  2. Be a tour guide. If you live in a town with several tourist destinations, it’s a good chance to practice your English. Tour guide doesn’t need to master English. Only need bravery, the knowledge of your destinations’ history, and simple English. To realize this idea, you may need to have a blog/web site too, to introduce your tourist destinations and to promote your service. It also to ensure that you will get foreigners, not domestic visitors.
  3. If you like writing a poem, try to write it in English and send it to an English magazine. Poem needs simple English and it will be easy for you who have limited English skill.

Any other ideas?

  1. February 10, 2013 at 6:05 pm

    this is very useful article & I think everyone who wants to build his/her skill they should read it.thanks 4 this….

    • February 11, 2013 at 4:13 pm

      Thanks for visiting and I am glad to know that my article was useful 🙂

  2. go
    February 10, 2013 at 6:11 pm

    this is very helpful 4 me

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

