Home > Language Focus, Recommended For Students, Recommended For Teachers > ENGLISH MATERIALS FOR SENIOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS (Part 2)

ENGLISH MATERIALS FOR SENIOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS (Part 2)


Part 2 (Expression of Regrets)

Continuing the first part, today I will try to talk about “regrets”. Have you ever feel regret? When did you feel it? Of course, when you did an “accidental” mistake, you would feel regret and then say sorry that you didn’t mean that.

Well, then how and what phrase / sentences we should use to express regret? Some phrases and samples below will show you about this material:

  1. I’m regret of doing …..
  2. I’m so sorry. I didn’t mean that.
  3. I do apologize.
  4. Much to my regret. I had to …..

Sample in daily conversation:

At home

Khadis : “Sarah, did you break the vase?”

Sarah : “Yes, Dad. I broke it this morning. I’m so sorry. I didn’t mean that.

Khadis : “It’s OK. Just be careful when you play in the living room.”

At school

Sarah : “Farhan, I do apologize that I couldn’t come to your birthday party yesterday.”

Farhan : “No problem. I know you were so busy in your boarding house.”

Sarah : “Yeah, I got so much paper to finish.”

Farhan : “It’s alright.”

The words “It’s OK” and “No problem” are the samples of responding to someone who express his / her regret about something.

So, is it quite simple for you?

Actually, expression of regret is used when you did something nasty, naughty, embarrassing, and other unintentionally acts and then you feel uneasy, and you say sorry. Expression of regret is just the same as expression of asking and giving apologizes. But “regret” has deeper meaning than ordinary “sorry”.

  1. susley
    November 28, 2011 at 4:20 pm

    sample from me :)
    > i do apologize, if i had long time unvisited ur blog. coz i Was busy to Worked & my activity other here..

    ur article so useable to refresh my english. coz i never joint in my conversation club noW.

    • khadis
      December 8, 2011 at 11:57 pm

      It’s okay. Thanks for having time to visit my blog in your working time …..

  2. March 7, 2012 at 10:22 am

    Hi, Khadis, nice establishment you got here!

    • khadis
      April 2, 2012 at 11:41 am

      Thank you sir :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 410 other followers

