Home > Language Focus > COMBINING TWO SENTENCES WITH RELATIVE PRONOUN

COMBINING TWO SENTENCES WITH RELATIVE PRONOUN


Several days ago my friends got a problem about “Relative Pronoun”. They were unable to combine 2 sentences and choose “who”, “that”, or “whom”. So, today I am going to explain you about how to combine 2 sentences using “Relative Pronoun”.

Basically, the formula of “Relative Pronoun” is so simple:

  1. Who + verb …………………………………………………………… (it’s for people)
  2. Whom + I / you / we /they ………………………………………. (it’s also for people)
  3. That or Which + verb or pronoun ……………………………… (it’s for both people and things). “Which” is also often followed by: “is / was” or “are / were” or “has / had”
  4. Where + I / you / we / they ………………………………………. (to refer a place)
  5. Whose + possession

Example:

  1. The woman who works in that drugstore is my girlfriend.
  2. I know a bookstore where you can buy your favorite book.
  3. The woman whose daughter is a doctor died yesterday.
  4. My uncle, whom you met the other day, has recently written a book on Indian Art.
  5. The book that I borrow from you was lost!

The examples above show us the implementation of the formula: when we have “who”, it will be followed by “verb” like what I have typed in bold words (example #1). When we have “whom”, it will be followed by pronoun (I, you, we, they, he, she). And so on …….

Now, how if you find a question on your test about combining two sentences using “Relative Pronoun”? You must choose and decide what word (whether: who, whom, whose, where) that should be used. As an example, I will use these sentences: You see the doctor in the room. The doctor is my father.

To combine those sentences, we need to extract them first. The way to extract the sentences is by deleting one of the same pronouns (in this case is “the doctor”). So, when we extract the sentences above, it will become:

Another example is: She is a bank teller. She helped us to open an account. To combine these sentences, we need to extract the same pronouns and use only one of them. The same pronoun is “She”. So, it will look like this:

One more example: This is a bank. The bank accepted my identification. The same pronoun here is “Bank”. So, the rest are: “This is a bank” and “Accepted my identification”. To combine these two sentences, we can use “That”. So, the final sentence will be: “This is the bank that accepted my identification”. (We may change “This is a bank” into “This is the bank” for conformity of context).

  1. July 1, 2012 at 11:42 pm

    its hard to understang

    • July 13, 2012 at 9:18 am

      Which part make you don’t understand? Maybe I can post article that easier to understand, later. By the way, thanks for visiting.

  2. anna rosales
    September 20, 2012 at 8:35 am

    English Learning

  3. December 6, 2012 at 7:28 pm

    its so hard to understand

  4. December 9, 2012 at 1:34 pm

    Did I explain it in a wrong way? Some people said that it’s hard to understand. Is there anyone could make a correction for me? I’m not seeing the difficult part yet.

  5. December 9, 2012 at 8:17 pm

    Try to simplify your explanation by using shorter sentences and removing the ‘flowers’. The diagram is a bit distracting. Might as well drop it. And, please check if you use the correct English in this: ‘Which part make you don’t understand?’. Rephrase this sentence.

  6. December 9, 2012 at 8:20 pm

    You also missed ‘is’ or ‘was’ here: ‘Maybe I can post article that easier to understand, later.’

  7. December 10, 2012 at 5:12 pm

    Thanks for the correction, Mr. Anto. I do realize that I’m still need to learn more and more :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 411 other followers

